Event Guide

Powered by:

Whare Kahurangi

Whare Kahurangi

When:

  • Sat 6 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 7 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 8 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 9 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 10 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 11 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 12 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 13 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 14 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 15 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 16 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 17 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 18 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 19 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 20 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 21 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 22 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 23 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 24 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 25 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 26 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 27 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 28 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 29 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 30 Apr ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 1 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 2 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 3 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 4 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 5 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 6 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 7 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 8 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 9 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 10 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 11 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 12 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 13 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 14 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 15 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 16 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 17 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 18 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 19 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 20 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 21 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 22 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 23 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 24 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 25 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 26 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 27 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 28 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 29 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 30 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 31 May ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 1 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 2 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 3 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 4 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 5 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 6 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 7 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 8 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 9 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 10 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 11 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 12 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 13 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 14 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 15 Jun, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 16 Jun, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 17 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 18 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 20 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 21 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 22 Jun, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 23 Jun, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 24 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 25 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 26 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 27 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 28 Jun, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 29 Jun, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 30 Jun, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 1 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 2 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 3 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 4 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 5 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 6 Jul, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 7 Jul, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 8 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 9 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 10 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 11 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 12 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 13 Jul, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 14 Jul, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 15 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 16 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 17 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 18 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 19 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 20 Jul, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 21 Jul, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 22 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 23 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 24 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 25 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 26 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 27 Jul, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 28 Jul, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 29 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 30 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 31 Jul, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 1 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 2 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 3 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 4 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 5 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 6 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 7 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 8 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 9 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 10 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 11 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 12 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 13 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 14 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 15 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 16 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 17 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 18 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 19 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 20 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 21 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 22 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 23 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 24 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 25 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 26 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 27 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 28 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 29 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 30 Aug, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 31 Aug, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 1 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 2 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 3 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 4 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 5 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 6 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 7 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 8 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 9 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 10 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 11 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 12 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 13 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 14 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 15 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 16 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 17 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 18 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 19 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 20 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 21 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 22 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 23 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 24 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 25 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 26 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 27 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 28 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 29 Sep, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 30 Sep, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 1 Oct, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 2 Oct, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 3 Oct, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 4 Oct, 9:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 5 Oct, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 6 Oct, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Puke Ariki, 1 Ariki Street, New Plymouth

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Puke Ariki

In August 1919 the Taranaki Museum opened its doors for the first time. Whare Kahurangi celebrates 100 years of collecting our region’s history, from the foundation gift of Māori taonga by William Henry Skinner through to the present day.

Meaning ‘house of treasured possessions’, Whare Kahurangi reflects both the precious objects on display and Puke Ariki as a place of community, education and wonder.

Featuring objects from across Puke Ariki’s collections, this exhibition examines how we collect, what stories we tell, and what the museum might look like in another 100 years.

Why do people collect things? Hear from local collectors and explore their collections. From ladybirds to Transformers, iconic Swanndri coats to salt and pepper shakers, you might be surprised to discover what treasures are hidden behind closed doors!

Bring along your own favourite object to add to our Community Cabinet of Curiosities.

What is the most disgusting object in Puke Ariki’s collection today?
What about the biggest eye, or the most romantic item?
Lift the lid on Puke Ariki’s collections to reveal unexpected oddities and entertaining tales.
Put yourself in the shoes of a curator to come up with your own fake news stories about the collection, snap a selfie, or vote on an ethical dilemma!
Step from the excitement of the museum’s grand opening into the future with a virtual reality experience of famous artworks from the other side of the world.

Then have your say on what we should be collecting now to represent Taranaki’s people and places of tomorrow.

Whare Kahurangi invites you to reflect on the past and imagine the future – this is an exhibition not to be missed!

People who liked this also checked out

  • Huatoki Plaza Market

    Huatoki Plaza Market, New Plymouth, Taranaki

    Tomorrow – more dates

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited