Event Guide

Powered by:

Places/Positions: Four Artists

Places/Positions: Four Artists

When:

  • Wed 11 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Sep, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 17 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 18 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Sep, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 24 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 25 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Sep, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 1 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 2 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 3 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 4 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 5 Oct, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 8 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 9 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 10 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 11 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 12 Oct, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Solander Gallery, 218c Willis St, Te Aro, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Solander Gallery

Places/Positions: Four Artists
- Rick Allender
- Nuala Gregory
- Yolunda Hickman
- Joseph Scheer

“Places/Positions: Four Artists” showcases the work of an international group of artists exploring new forms of collage in mixed media. Sharing a strong sense of colour, craft, and constructed image, the artists nonetheless adopt very different techniques and distinct aesthetic positions. Rick Allender references nautical imagery and the intricacy of Japanese art in a series of ‘marcollages’ (marquetry and collage) featuring inlaid designs in raw and processed wood.

Nuala Gregory and Joseph Scheer make very different uses of Chinese handmade papers to create dynamic colour assemblages (Gregory) and detailed images of beautiful moths in the most delicate textures (Scheer). If their work contrasts abstraction with figures from nature, Yolunda Hickman combines the two.

She lays down patterned planes of watercolour and gouache over which cut-outs of children’s stencilled animals float suspended in a kind of frozen space. Together, these artists produce an exhibition of highly accomplished and intriguing works, in which there will be something to captivate and delight many different viewers.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited