Event Guide

Powered by:

Linear Impositions - Marilyn Jones

Linear Impositions - Marilyn Jones

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 23 Aug, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sat 24 Aug, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 25 Aug, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 26 Aug, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Tue 27 Aug, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Wed 28 Aug, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Thu 29 Aug, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Fri 30 Aug, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sat 31 Aug, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 1 Sep, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 2 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Tue 3 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Wed 4 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Thu 5 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Fri 6 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sat 7 Sep, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 8 Sep, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 9 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Tue 10 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Wed 11 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Thu 12 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Fri 13 Sep, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sat 14 Sep, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Toi Pōneke Arts Centre, 61-69 Abel Smith St, Te Aro, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Inspired by unexpected elements from Toi Pōneke’s architecture, artist Marilyn Jones has created an
installation of inter-connected steel rod sculptures that occupy and interrupt the gallery space.

Jones opens a physical relationship with both audience and site through her work – taking aspects
of in-between and negative spaces formed around Toi Pōneke’s buildings and flagpole and transforming them into geometric steel sculptures, bringing these ready-made forms normally situated outside, inside.

The artist seeks to challenge and heighten our levels of spatial awareness as we navigate our way into and through this reconfigured gallery space – the installation simultaneously protrudes into our pathway (sharp angles!) and keeps us safe (high-vis orange!).

Flying a flag with the message “I want to communicate with you”, Jones questions what occurs when dialogue is opened and activated between space, objects and people.

Drawing with scissors - workshop.

A workshop where you can use scissors to create innovative new artworks. In this workshop Marilyn Jones will show you how to create new shapes using a variety of materials that will challenge conventional views of the world around you.

Marilyn Jones in conversation with Lisa Munnelly and Sue Prescott.
Thursday 12 September 6 - 7:30pm

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited