Event Guide

Powered by:

Alex Monteith: Aotearoa/New Zealand Visiting Artist Project

Alex Monteith: Aotearoa/New Zealand Visiting Artist Project

When:

  • Sat 1 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 2 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 3 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 4 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 5 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 8 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 9 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 10 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 11 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 12 Jun ’19, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 13 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 14 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 15 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 16 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 17 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 18 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 20 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 21 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 22 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 23 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 24 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 25 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 26 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 27 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 28 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 29 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 30 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 1 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 2 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 3 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 4 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 5 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 6 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 7 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 8 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 9 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 10 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 11 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 12 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 13 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 14 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 15 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 16 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 17 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 18 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 19 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 20 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 21 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 22 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 23 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 24 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 25 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 26 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 27 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 28 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 29 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 30 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 31 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 1 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 2 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 3 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 4 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 5 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 6 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 7 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 8 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 9 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 10 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 11 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 12 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 13 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 14 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 15 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 16 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 17 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 18 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 19 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 20 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 21 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 22 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 23 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 24 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 25 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 26 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 27 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 28 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 29 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 30 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 31 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 1 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 2 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 3 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 4 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 5 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 6 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 7 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 8 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 9 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 10 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 11 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 15 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 16 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 17 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 18 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 22 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 23 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 24 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 25 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 29 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Dunedin Public Art Gallery, 30 The Octagon, Dunedin

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

In 2012 Alex Monteith embarked on research in the region of Tamatea/Dusky Sound, Aotearoa/New Zealand. During this time she became interested in the legacy of archaeologist Peter Coutts, who undertook excavations in the 1960s and early 1970s around Tamatea and the wider coastal region.

Specifically, Monteith's work focused on the status of material now in museum collections that was removed from tauwhare/shelters and other sites in the areas where Coutts undertook excavations.

Monteith has been exploring the potential of contemporary art practice to activate multi-disciplinary research into this collection, working collaboratively with a wide range of contributors including mana whenua, museums, archaeologists, curators and artists.

Over the summer of 2018-19, as the Dunedin Public Art Gallery New Zealand Visiting Artist, Monteith has been working in Otepoti/Dunedin. This exhibition will continue to expand her research, presenting new video work s as well as facilitating performed research and encounters with these materials held in museum collections.

A Creative New Zealand Toi Aotearoa Visiting Artist project. Project partner, Dunedin School of Art.
This interdisciplinary exhibition is being developed through the Visiting Artist Programme at Dunedin Public Art Gallery, and is presented with collaborative support from Southland Museum and Art Gallery Niho o Te Taniwha., Otago Museum and Hocken Collections Uare Taoka o Hakena.

1 June - 29 September 2019.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited