Event Guide

Powered by:

Aroha String Quartet

Primary image


Classical Music

Country of Origin:

New Zealand


Official Website

Acclaimed as demonstrating "accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity" (The Dominion Post), the Aroha String Quartet is firmly established as one of New Zealand's finest chamber music ensembles.

Founded in 2004, this versatile Wellington-based quartet is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique, and multicultural innovation.

In 2009 Robert Ibell joined the group after the original cellist, Jiaxin Cheng, left for the UK. In 2012 Blythe Press joined them as second violin, taking the place of original quartet member, Beiyi Xue. Following Blythe's departure for further study in Europe in 2015 the Quartet was joined by Simeon Broom.

Family commitments led to Simeon taking leave from the Quartet for the 2017 season and his resignation later that year. Ursula Evans will join the Quartet as second violinist in 2018.

The Aroha Quartet is committed to presenting string quartet works from western classical and avant-garde repertoire to traditional Chinese folk music, as well as works for larger forces through collaborations with numerous high-profile musicians.

The Aroha Quartet performs regularly around NZ in centres from the Deep South to the Far North. In 2014 they performed five concerts as part of Chamber Music New Zealand's Kaleidoscope series. Overseas trips have seen them participate in the prestigious International Summer Academy in Austria in 2010, give concerts and masterclasses in China in 2010 and 2013, and perform at the Huntington Music Festival in Australia in 2011.

The Aroha Quartet runs the annual ASQ International Music Academy, a week-long chamber music course in Wellington, New Zealand.

Related Popular Events 

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited