Event Guide

Powered by:

Was But Still Is - An Exhibition by Tom Mackie

Was But Still Is - An Exhibition by Tom Mackie

When:

  • Fri 12 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 13 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 14 Jul, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 15 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 16 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 17 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 18 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 19 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 20 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 21 Jul, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 22 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 23 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 24 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 25 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 26 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 27 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 28 Jul, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 29 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 30 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 31 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 1 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 2 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 3 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 4 Aug, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Precinct 35, 35 Ghuznee Street, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Tom Mackie

'Was But Still Is' is a solo exhibition by Tom Mackie.

Mixing the languages of Absurdism and the Ready Made, Mackie transforms preexisting materials and objects into visual puzzles that relocate our understanding of them.

A series of painterly beige abstract works hold a secret. What we see are the reverse of found paintings and fabrics: a naive painted landscape and a work likely to be reproduced within a Hong Kong factory assembly line.

The canvases have been re-stretched and assembled to create new parallel works. Within these inverted paintings, layers of mark-making history build-up into a visible crust and are housed within the artist’s sculpted wooden frames.

In ‘Was but Still Is’ we are given pieces removed from their origin and invited to see behind what is often overlooked in everyday life.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited