Event Guide

Powered by:

Transformation From Roots Up

Transformation From Roots Up

When:

  • Wed 20 Mar, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 27 Mar, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 3 Apr, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 17 Apr, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 24 Apr, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 1 May, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 8 May, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 15 May, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 22 May, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 29 May, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 5 Jun, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 12 Jun, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Wed 26 Jun, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Hillcrest Stadium, 138 Wairere Drive, Hamilton

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

The group meets on a regular basis to undertake various environmental conservation activities within the park to recreate a 'Kahikatea forest' e.g. planting native plants , releasing planted plants, mulching. Meet at the 'Deer Stalkers' Hall Car park 1pm, 138 Wairere Drive.

They are working with the local community i.e. Kirikiriroa Marae, Knighton school, ATC training Corps to plant and establish a mixed podocarp forest (kahikatea, matai, rimu, totara etc.) as part of the ‘bush corridor’ linking the city to the river.

There is also an establishing grove of harakeke/flax from the ‘Rene Orchiston’ collection available for those teaching Maori traditional harakeke weaving. Come along and help with this project and have a sense of contributing positively to the urban restoration in Hamilton City.

For details of how you can help.

Gerard Kelly - Community Planting Co-ordinator - Open Spaces & Facilities
DDI: 07 838 6501
Mobile: 021 286 2066
Email: gerard.kelly@hcc.govt.nz

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited