Event Guide

Powered by:

Time/Tone - Cory Champion

Time/Tone - Cory Champion

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 11 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sat 12 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 13 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 14 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Tue 15 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Wed 16 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Thu 17 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Fri 18 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sat 19 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 20 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 22 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Wed 23 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Thu 24 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Fri 25 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sat 26 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 27 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 28 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Tue 29 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Wed 30 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Thu 31 Jan, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Fri 1 Feb, 10:00am – 8:00pm
  • Sat 2 Feb, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Toi Pōneke Arts Centre, 61-69 Abel Smith St, Te Aro, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Exhibition Dates: 11 January – 2 February 2019
Live performance: 5.30pm Thursday 31 January 2019
Artist talk: 1pm Friday 1 February 2019

Drummer and artist Cory Champion works with percussion instruments and recording and amplifying devices to create a constantly evolving, acousmatic soundscape from analogue and digital sources.

Methodically recording the unique sounds of cymbals, drums and drum machines in his studio space, Champion builds richly textural arrangements of these acoustic and synthesised sounds, from which he composes augmented soundscapes. He describes his process as akin to carving a sculpture – starting with the raw, mass material, then reducing and shaping it, to create an aural form.

This soundscape plays in the gallery space alongside the sculptural works; drums and cymbals are amplified and placed in particular gallery locations, with the invitation to be played. When they are struck, the action both emits a sound and kicks off a compositional chain reaction, randomly modulating the immersive, harmonic and hypnotic soundscape experienced in the space.

Cory Champion is the 2018/19 Toi Pōneke – New Zealand School of Music Sound Artist in Residence.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited