Event Guide

Powered by:

Terminus Virtual Real Exhibition

Terminus Virtual Real Exhibition

When:

  • Sat 20 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 21 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 22 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 23 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 24 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 25 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 26 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 27 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 28 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 29 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 30 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 31 Jul, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 1 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 2 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 3 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 4 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 5 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 6 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 7 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 8 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 9 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 10 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 11 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 12 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 13 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 14 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 15 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 16 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 17 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 18 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 19 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 20 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 21 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 22 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 23 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 24 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 25 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 26 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 27 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 28 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 29 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 30 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 31 Aug, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 1 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 2 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 3 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 4 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 5 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 6 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 7 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 8 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 9 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 10 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 11 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 12 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 13 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 14 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 15 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 16 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 17 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 18 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 19 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 20 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 21 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 22 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 23 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 24 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 25 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 26 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 27 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 28 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 29 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 30 Sep, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 1 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 2 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 3 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 4 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 5 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 6 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 7 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 8 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 9 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 10 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 11 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 12 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 13 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 14 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 15 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 16 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 17 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 18 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 19 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 20 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Mon 21 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Tue 22 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 23 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Thu 24 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Fri 25 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sat 26 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Sun 27 Oct, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Tauranga Art Gallery, Cnr of Wharf and Willow Streets, Tauranga

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

New virtual reality experience at Tauranga Art Gallery!

Prepare yourself for a slippage of time and space as artists Jess Johnson & Simon Ward take you on a journey across five realms of virtual reality using state of the art technology.

Tauranga Art Gallery is the first New Zealand venue for this major virtual reality exhibition, which opens this Saturday.

Aptly name 'Terminus', the exhibition makes it way to our shores from the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra. It has been adapted specifically for Tauranga Art Gallery with the addition of original artwork and large-scale quilts, a collaboration between Jess Johnson and her mother Cynthia Johnson.

The centrepiece of 'Terminus' is five virtual reality artworks housed within bespoke structures situated on a tessellated floor map. Visitors will slip on a headset at each station and be transported into another reality. You will pass through 'Fleshold Crossing'; take respite in 'Known Unknown'; lose yourself within 'Scumm Engine'; bravely face impending danger in the tower of 'Gog & Magog'; and experience the brink of sensory overload in the psychedelic 'Tumblewych'.

This is an interactive experience not to be missed!

“In the hands of artists, virtual reality technology has the potential to explode into new genres and art forms. As an artist working in virtual reality, I’m really excited by the psychological implications of being able to position an audience directly within my artwork.” Jess Johnson

Principal Exhibition Sponsor: CooneyLeesMorgan
Contemporary Corporate Partner: Rutherford Signs

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited