Event Guide

Powered by:

Sybille Schlumbom

Sybille Schlumbom

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Wed 1 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 2 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 3 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 4 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 5 May ’19, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 6 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 7 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 8 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 9 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 10 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 11 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 12 May ’19, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 13 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 14 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 15 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 16 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 17 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 18 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 19 May ’19, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 20 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 21 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 23 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 24 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 25 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 26 May ’19, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 27 May ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 28 May ’19, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, 16 Byron Street, Napier

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Sybille Schlumbom is a first generation immigrant from Northern Germany.

‘My place of belonging is the ocean. My clan are the bird people’.

Sybille studied graphic design at the Lazie Academy in Esslingen, Germany, and holds a BA in Illustration Design from the BildKunst Akademie in Hamburg, Germany. She studied Japanese woodcut with Roslyn Kean in Melbourne/ Australia, Eva Pietzcker in Berlin/Germany and at Mi-Lab in Japan, where her teachers were Tuula Moilanen (Doctor of Arts) Finland, Chihiro Taki (Master of Arts), Japan, Michiko Hamada (Master of Fine Arts), Japan, and Ayao Shiokawa (Master of Fine Arts), Japan. Sybille thanks all of them for their willingness to share their skill, knowledge and experience.

Her practice is diverse. A painter and graphic artist by heart and training, she has worked in installation, ceramics, print, collage, assemblage. Often her aspiration to understand a new medium is fueled by the desire to make informed material decisions for specific projects. She likes the misplaced, the lost, the in-between. Her need is for definition, contour, a moment of sharpness.

A print needs loss, ink and control to come into being. Sybille’s growing understanding and practice of mokuhanga helps her to achieve a lost and misplaced atmosphere in her works. As an illustrator, representative motifs give Sybille security; a trail of breadcrumbs to venture into lack context like a foreign language or culture.

Sybille is always keen to collaborate with other artists and curators and to share her passion for mokuhanga in talks and demonstrations.

Email - sybille.schlumbom@gmail.com

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited