Event Guide

Powered by:

RED - A Group Exhibition

RED - A Group Exhibition

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 1 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 2 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Tue 4 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 5 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 6 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 7 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 8 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 9 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 10 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Tue 11 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 12 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 13 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 14 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 15 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 16 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 17 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Tue 18 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 20 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 21 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 22 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 23 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 24 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Tue 25 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 26 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 27 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 28 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 29 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 30 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Zimmerman Art Gallery, 329 Main Street, Palmerston North

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

What is red?
The primal connotations of red include energy, danger and determination. This month’s exhibition at Zimmerman Art Gallery draws on these associations, featuring works in a variety of media.

A painted steel sculpture by Sebastien Jaunas, simply titled “Red”, thrusts up and outwards in a sinewy twist. The work seems almost alive, its spindly tentacles fearlessly probing its surrounds.

A sense of exploration and energy is echoed by “Gusto”, an acrylic painting by Lorraine Rastorfer, with twisting gold tendrils stretching out across a sea of scarlet.

In Tony Rumball’s “Out and About”, a red-hot blaze surges from the Guy Fawkes’ night fire-pit, while in the distance a hapless farm animal looks on.

Not content to stand in the background, the young woman in Andrew Moon’s painting, “Brood”, stands centre-stage, arms firmly crossed as she glowers at any who might stand in her path.

Defiance takes a more ominous turn in Angela Tier’s “Vladimir” (Putin) and “Donald” (Trump). Sculpted from stoneware, the Presidents are both depicted as eagles – the high flying king of birds, and symbols of government power. Their avian visages embody the determination - and danger – associated with these formidable heads of state.

Another stoneware work by Tier, a grey duck urn, scopes us with unnerving red eyes.

The steeliness turns from metaphorical to literal in a metallic sculpture by Sebastien Jaunas. Simply titled “Why”, a fold of hand forged steel is brutally pierced by pointed rods.

A large oil painting by Fran Dibble rounds out the exhibition. A lush botanical scene is unexpectedly interrupted by white spheres, splattered and smeared with bright blood red. The circles resemble, in part, the petri dishes a microbiologist or pathologist might use to examine a sample. Titled “Hidden and Beneath”, the work is both unsettling and compelling, inviting us to bring our own associations to the artist’s use of colour and form.

The exhibition "Red" runs at Zimmerman Art Gallery from 1 to 30 June 2019. Open 11am to 3pm daily, including weekends (closed for Queen's Birthday on Monday 3 June).

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited