Event Guide

Powered by:

Pou Rama

Pou Rama

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Wed 8 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Thu 9 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Fri 10 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Sat 11 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Sun 12 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Mon 13 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Tue 14 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Wed 15 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Thu 16 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Fri 17 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Sat 18 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Sun 19 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Mon 20 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • Tue 21 May, 5:00pm – 12:00am
  • View all sessions

Where:

Soundshell and Village Green, Memorial Drive, Rotorua

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

View this striking light installation inspired by pouwhenua (land symbols of support) which is located on the Village Green (opposite Lady Jane’s Ice Cream Parlour).

From 5pm each day Pou Rama (Light Posts) will be lit from within, inviting people to walk through the artwork and enjoy the accompanying sound track.

Pou Rama is a series of free-standing light structures representing creative wairua (inspiration) which is generated from te taiao (the environment). The whakairo designs express cycles of creativity, and connections to place.

Designed by Storybox in collaboration with visual artist Desna Whaanga-Schollum (Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Pahauwera), Pou Rama has featured at the LUX Light Festival (Wellington), Bright Nights (Auckland), LUMA Festival (Queenstown) and Matariki Festival, Aotea Square (Auckland).

While Pou Rama has been on display in several locations before, Rotorua will be the first time where a specially commissioned sound scape will be part of the installation. Composed by renowned taonga pūoro (Māori musical instrument) artist, Al Fraser, this musical accompaniment will emanate from the pou.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited