Event Guide

Powered by:

Pictorial Architecture - Alice Alva

Pictorial Architecture - Alice Alva

When:

  • Fri 1 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 2 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 3 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 4 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 5 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 6 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 7 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 8 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 9 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 10 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 11 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 12 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 13 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 14 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 15 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 16 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 17 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 18 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 19 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 20 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 21 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 22 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 23 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 24 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 25 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 26 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 27 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 28 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 29 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 30 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 31 Mar, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 1 Apr, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

ArtsPost Galleries & Shop, 120 Victoria Street, Hamilton

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Alice Alva is a multi-disciplinary visual artist and designer based in Te-Whanganui-a-Tara, Wellington, New Zealand, who works across drawing and illustration, embroidery and textiles, painting and graphic design.

Her work is informed by an interest in patterns, ornamentation, architecture and craft-based processes. Alva has exhibited her work across Australia and New Zealand, including Wallace Gallery, Toi Poneke, RM Gallery and Dunedin Public Art Gallery’s Rear Window Project. She was also a finalist in this year’s Wallace Art Prize and the Parkin Drawing Prize 2018.

A collection of new embroidery works, Pictorial Architecture is an exploration of the physicality of drawing with thread, that considers the spatial relationships of colour, shape and texture. These pieces are informed by the materiality and acts of labour and process employed by traditional embroidery techniques.

Alva is driven by the obsessive act of repetition and is interested in the intersection between art and craft and the act of making, exploring what seems to be a very human need to decorate the spaces we live in. Pictorial Architecture examines the connections between the traditions of textiles, pattern making, domestic crafts, ornamentation and contemporary drawing.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited