Event Guide

Powered by:

Martin Poppelwell - P1

Martin Poppelwell - P1

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 8 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 9 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 13 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 14 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 15 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 16 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 20 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 21 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 22 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 23 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 27 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 28 Feb, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 1 Mar, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 2 Mar, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 6 Mar, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 7 Mar, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 8 Mar, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 9 Mar, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

SPA_CE Gallery, 116 Tennyson Street (upstairs), Napier, New Zealand, Napier

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

This Is Space

“My process of building shapes to work upon extends from endless drawings, lists, cutting and pasting. The current new work looks to combine the ‘dumb’ playfulness of these drawings - how they wobble, teeter, slip and seem out of balance and proportion - and then try and build them, what essentially are bad or ugly pots and then look to make them somehow... elegant.”

There is a rawness in painting on the objects, it is even disagreeable to what the form or sculpture is, evincing a skepticism as to the whole constructed enterprise. with fluent gestures I try to elevate facts from the prosaic to the poetic - ’Where such fluency is achieved we are magically convinced that everyday speech is latently poetic and taught by poets (artists), our ears (minds) open up to the true mysteries of language.’ (1)

Hannah Arendt on the poetry of W.H.Auden. Remembering W.H.Auden, The Critics, New Yorker, January 20, 1975.

Please join us for the opening Friday, February 8th 5-7pm, Martin will be present.
Regular hours then resume - Wednesday to Saturday, 10-3pm.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited