Event Guide

Powered by:

Mātātoa - Mumu Returns - An Exhibition by Mumu Moore

Mātātoa - Mumu Returns - An Exhibition by Mumu Moore

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 7 Jun, 5:30pm – 8:00pm
  • Sat 8 Jun, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 10 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 11 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 12 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 13 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 14 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 15 Jun, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 16 Jun, 8:00am – 12:00pm
  • Mon 17 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 18 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 20 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 21 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 22 Jun, 10:00am – 12:00pm
  • Mon 24 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 25 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 26 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 27 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 28 Jun, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 29 Jun, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 1 Jul, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 2 Jul, 9:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

The Incubator, 17th Avenue, Tauranga

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

The Incubator

The theme for this exhibition comes from the word Mātātoa, which means to live fearlessly. The theme of living fearlessly is the key to how Mumu lives his life, creating pieces of art that move from one state of being to another, working from a place of unknown, breaking through fear to find a place that of peace which essential for continued spiritual growth.

For this exhibition Mumu (Will) Moore has created 8 purerehua (Taonga Pūoro). Mumu headed to Tauranga to meet with his hapu (Tukairangi) and his whanau in Matapihi for the first time in many generations. Mumu has created a series of purerehua based on knowledge that connects his people with the land in Tauranga Moana. Each is crafted on these lands, and then named after that specific location.

Each purerehua holds the mauri of the rakau (tree), the mauri of the land, and the mauri of Mumu all infused together to create a unique pendant with its own unique voice.

A Purerehua is a Taonga Pūoro that directly connections us as humans to te taiao (the natural world) through sound. Purerehua are used for karakia (prayer, incantations), to connect from Papatūānuku ( the earth mother) to the Ngā Atua (many gods) that live/reside above the earth, they can be used to invoke rain, and for spiritual practices, and they can be worn on the body as a pendant.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited