Event Guide

Powered by:

Helen Calder - Folded

Helen Calder - Folded

When:

  • Wed 27 Feb, 5:30pm – 7:30pm
  • Thu 28 Feb, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 1 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 2 Mar, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 6 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 7 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 8 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 9 Mar, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 13 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 14 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 15 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 16 Mar, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 20 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 21 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 22 Mar, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 23 Mar, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Bartley + Company Art, 56a Ghuznee St, Te Aro, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Please join us at the opening of Helen Calder's new exhibition next Wednesday. Helen is coming up from Wellington for the opening and will talk about here work at 5.45pm.  

There’s a sense of playful misbehaving in Calder’s new exhibition - a polite disruption of expectations. Nothing is quite what it seems. On the one hand the paintings seems to speak to historic male, hard-edged geometric abstraction but there's also a sense of soft feminine craft, of fabric draping, of textural colour with surprising juxtapositions and reveals between outer and inner, front and back.

The paint is built up with multiple colour layers of various opacities and is folded to reveals those layers. The softness of the paint, its pliability and weight, is evident in the drape and fall of each folded form.

And then there are the steel wire supports which hold the skins - here presenting themselves as lines, none entirely straight and some surprisingly a little wayward, but all an integral part of the work interacting with the rectangular geometry of the paintings. 

This is an exciting new exhibition from an artist gaining strong recognition for her exploration of the boundaries of painting and her distinctive use of space, colour, light, line and form. 

This is Calder’s fourth exhibition in the gallery and we are delighted to present this new work, particularly while she has two large works in the collection of the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, currently showing in their Kaleidoscope: Abstract Aotearoa exhibition.

Calder has exhibited regularly since completing a Master of Fine Arts from the University of Canterbury in 2003. Her work is held in a wide range of private and public collections.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited