Event Guide

Powered by:

Fantastic Feasts: Food of The Ancient Greeks and Romans

Fantastic Feasts: Food of The Ancient Greeks and Romans

When:

  • Wed 15 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 16 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 17 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 18 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 19 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 22 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 23 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 24 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 25 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 26 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 29 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 30 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 31 May, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 1 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 2 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 5 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 6 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 7 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 8 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 9 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 12 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 13 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 14 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 15 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 16 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 20 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 21 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 22 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 23 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Wed 26 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Thu 27 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Fri 28 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sat 29 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 30 Jun, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Teece Museum of Classical Antiquities, 3 Hereford St, Christchurch

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Open Now: Fantastic Feasts!
Food is an integral part of the way in which we express our cultural values and beliefs. Alongside language, almost nothing says 'This is who we are' quite like our festive dishes and food traditions. A consideration of the foods and the traditions we have inherited from the ancient Greeks and Romans is at the heart of the next exhibition at the Teece Museum.

Through an array of precious artefacts this exhibition will explore eating in the ancient world, examining what the Greeks and Romans ate, how they produced and distributed food, the feasting and dining traditions they developed to bring their communities together, and the connections they believed existed between their food sources and the gods.

Fantastic Feasts features fun food games for the family to try together, and has a number of activities which qualify for Children's University passport stamps.

When: Open 6 April 2019 to 23 February 2020

Find more information on the Teece Museum Facebook page.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited