Event Guide

Powered by:

At the Crest – Paintings by Dr Wilfred Stanley Wallis

At the Crest – Paintings by Dr Wilfred Stanley Wallis

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Mon 13 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 14 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 15 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 16 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 17 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 20 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 21 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 22 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 23 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 24 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 27 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 28 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 29 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 30 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 31 May ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 3 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 4 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 5 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 7 Jun ’19, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Rotorua Lakes Council, 1061 Haupapa St, Rotorua

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Facebook

Dr. Wilfred Stanley Wallis (1891-1957), originally from Christchurch, impacted Rotorua positively in the years that he lived here.

Arriving as a doctor he founded the Queen Elizabeth Hospital and the Crippled Children’s Society. Then as a devoted artist in his retirement founding the Rotorua Society of the Arts, supporting and purchasing art that has become the highly-valued collection cared for by Rotorua Museum.

He painted at a turning point in New Zealand’s art history – largely unacknowledged as an artist due to his limited exposure – but at a time that was ‘at the crest of the wave of modern art’ in New Zealand.

Some of his locally held work will be on display in the Rotorua Lakes Council Galleria (1061 Haupapa Street) from 10 May – 10 July 2019. The Galleria is open Monday – Friday from 8am - 5pm.

Though he died in the late 1950s, his daughter Ynys Fraser still lives in Rotorua. Most of the works displayed are on personal loan from Ynys and her family.

This exhibition was curated by Angela Frank and Rotorua Museum.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited