Event Guide

Powered by:

Alex Monteith: Aotearoa/New Zealand Visiting Artist Project

When:

  • Sat 25 May, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 26 May, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 27 May, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 28 May, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 29 May, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 30 May, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 31 May, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 1 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 2 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 3 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 4 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 5 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 7 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 8 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 9 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 10 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 11 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 12 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 13 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 14 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 15 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 16 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 17 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 18 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 19 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 20 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 21 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 22 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 23 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 24 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 25 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 26 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 27 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 28 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 29 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 30 Jun, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Dunedin Public Art Gallery, 30 The Octagon, Dunedin

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

In 2012 Alex Monteith embarked on research in the region of Tamatea/Dusky Sound, Aotearoa/New Zealand. During this time she became interested in the legacy of archaeologist Peter Coutts, who undertook excavations in the 1960s and early 1970s around Tamatea and the wider coastal region.

Specifically, Monteith's work focused on the status of material now in museum collections that was removed from tauwhare/shelters and other sites in the areas where Coutts undertook excavations.
Monteith has been exploring the potential of contemporary art practice to activate multi-disciplinary research into this collection, working collaboratively with a wide range of contributors including mana whenua, museums, archaeologists, curators and artists.

Over the summer of 2018-19, as the Dunedin Public Art Gallery New Zealand Visiting Artist, Monteith has been working in Otepoti/Dunedin. This exhibition will continue to expand her research, presenting new video work s as well as facilitating performed research and encounters with these materials held in museum collections.

A Creative New Zealand Toi Aotearoa Visiting Artist project. Project partner, Dunedin School of Art.
This interdisciplinary exhibition is being developed through the Visiting Artist Programme at Dunedin Public Art Gallery, and is presented with collaborative support from Southland Museum and Art Gallery Niho o Te Taniwha., Otago Museum and Hocken Collections Uare Taoka o Hakena.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited