Event Guide

Powered by:

Summer Stories In the Sky

Summer Stories In the Sky

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 7 Dec ’18, 9:30pm – 10:30pm
  • Fri 21 Dec ’18, 9:30pm – 10:30pm
  • Sat 22 Dec ’18, 9:30pm – 10:30pm
  • Mon 14 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Tue 15 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Wed 16 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Thu 17 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Fri 18 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Mon 21 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Tue 22 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Wed 23 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Thu 24 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Fri 25 Jan, 3:00pm – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Stardome Observatory & Planetarium, 670 Manukau Rd, One Tree Hill Domain, Royal Oak

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Adult: $12.00
  • Child: $10.00
  • Family: $40.00

Narrated by Lucy Lawless and John Rhys-Davies, join us for an adventure as our stellar navigators explore the night sky and delve into the myths and legends behind the constellations visible in summer Not only will you be introduced to fantastic Greek and Māori characters, you will also learn what a constellation is, how they are used for astronomical purposes and where the names of planets come from! You’ll finish your Stories in the Sky experience with a live presentation.

You’ll learn exactly where the characters from the evening night sky story will be located on the night of your visit, and how you can use them to find nebulae, galaxies, star clusters, planets, and John’s personal favourites, dwarf planets, just by using the stars.

Our perspective of the sky is ever changing, which means we see different constellations and stars as we move through the seasons. For this reason, Summer Stories in the Sky is one of four shows in the Stories series. Each season, the show content changes based on what you can see in the sky around the night of your visit so you can keep coming back to meet new characters.

With stunning 360-degree animations and a good dose of John Rhys-Davis humour, Stories in the Sky is suitable for both the young and the young-at-heart.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited