Event Guide

Powered by:

Stephanie Crisp - Boats & Boatsheds

Stephanie Crisp - Boats & Boatsheds

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 29 Sep, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sun 30 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 2 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 3 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 4 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 5 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 6 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 7 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 9 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 10 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 11 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 12 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 13 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 14 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 16 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 17 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 18 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 19 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 20 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 21 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 22 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 23 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 24 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 25 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 26 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 27 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 28 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Alfred Memelink Artspace Gallery, 223 The Esplanade Petone, Lower Hutt

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Facebook Page

After a near sell out exhibition last year, Stephanie Crisp returns to Artspace Gallery for another exciting solo exhibition. Her work, often described as stunning, is beautifully constructed and balanced and often features her favourite subject to paint - boats and harbours.

Stephanie just loves to paint impressions of wonderful boats resting before they take off again out to sea and she says 'No matter how hard I try to find some other subject matter, I can’t leave these boats and the peace of the harbour'. Some people have a blood type A or B positive or negative but I'm positive she has blood type C (as in Sea) as I think her blood flows with a good dose of saline.

Stephanie's paintings connect her home town of Lyttlelton with Wellington and our more local, Hikoikoi Reserve boatsheds at the Hutt River Mouth. The scenes in her artworks are sculptural and sometimes industrial, the colours often lively and sometimes sombre.

She paints in strong acrylic colour and loves the play of light and shade and shadows created in various shades of maritime greys and blues.

Stephanie also loves the freedom of using pallet knives in her artworks, putting paint onto a knife and creating art that way gives her joy, She sometimes even uses her hands. She paints mostly on canvas and paper but at other times has painted on anything that can sustain paint. She also loves to create artworks using collage techniques, first painting boats moored together in a harbour, then ripping the boats apart from each other as a storm passes through.

After a coffee or two whilst waiting for the storm to abate, she calmly returns to the harbour to create a new composition and then sews them back together again, These form her magnificent 'Sewn Up Port' series of artworks.

Come and view Stephanie's new artworks then explore the other five exhibition room at this gallery; You can discover what else is new on display and enjoy the varied collections of creativity always on show at your local Artspace Gallery.

In addition to regularly changing feature exhibitions, Artspace Gallery exhibits all genre of art created by over 300 local and nationwide artists. Visitors regularly comment how wonderfully diverse the collections of local creativity are. The Gallery also offers a huge range of unique locally made creative gifts, gift cards and regular art classes.

Located at the congestion free end of Petone, you'll find free and easy parking right outside the friendly seaside Gallery or along the sea front.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited