Event Guide

Powered by:

Shared Aspirations-Paintings by Michele Theobald & Val Jones

Shared Aspirations-Paintings by Michele Theobald & Val Jones

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 30 Nov ’18, 5:00pm – 7:00pm
  • Sat 1 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 2 Dec ’18, 1:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Mon 3 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 4 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 5 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 7 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 8 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 9 Dec ’18, 1:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Mon 10 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 11 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 12 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 13 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 14 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 15 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 16 Dec ’18, 1:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Mon 17 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 18 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 19 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 20 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 21 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 22 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • Sun 23 Dec ’18, 1:00pm – 4:00pm
  • Mon 24 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Taylor-Jensen Fine Arts, 33 George Street, Palmerston North

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Taylor-Jensen Fine Arts concludes its changing exhibition programme for 2018 with an exhibition of acrylic paintings by mother and daughter Val Jones and Michele Theobald, from Palmerston North.

Shared Aspirations, an exhibition of over 20 paintings, will open on Friday 30th November at 5 -7pm with a reception for the artists at Taylor-Jensen Fine Arts, 33 George Street, Palmerston North. The exhibition features interpretations by the artists of the unique New Zealand landscape each in their own style and choice of subject matter. The public is cordially invited to view the exhibition and meet the artists. Shared Aspirations will run through 24th December.

”Painting, pottery, sculpture, singing, sewing, craft;” writes Val Jones, ”This was the family environment I have grown in. This has been the fire in my belly, my love for all things art – a shared passion.”

She continues: “Painting is my aspiration… Acrylic is my medium of choice. Acrylic offers me the opportunity to paint bright and bold, a chance to express myself in a colourful way. I am inspired by the beauty and mystery of the natural surroundings in Aotearoa. I take photographs for compositions and sketches to explore shadow and light; these creative visions then spring to life on canvas in vibrant colours.”

“It is great to have a family of artists to bounce ideas off, to ask opinions on, to paint together, to encourage and support each other. For me,” Val concludes,” art is a lifetime of learning, improving and constantly evolving.”

Val’s daughter Michele shares the following: “My passion is to paint. My aspiration is to express the feeling and moods of the unique New Zealand landscape. I continue to explore many styles and mediums as I create my art; recently though, it is the vibrant acrylics which allow me to apply the quick strokes of the brush to capture movement on canvas.

“Creativity has been highlighted in all my work positions. I have used graphic art for developing logos and print advertising. As a teacher aide I have encouraged children, including my own two young boys, to observe and think about the world in creative ways.

“I have undertaken formal and informal art training to further develop my innate artistic ability. Photography inspires me to use my ‘captured compositions’ in original ways and keeps me mindful of how much light plays a part in my art. Fourteen years as a florist inspired my love for harmonious and complementary colours and to seek the unique expression in my painting. My aspiration as an artist is to continue to learn, to observe with a creative eye and mind and to paint with passion!”

Shared Aspirations runs through 24 December; give yourself a break from Christmas shopping and come up to Taylor-Jensen Fine Arts for a ‘refreshment of the spirit!’

The staff at Taylor-Jensen Fine Arts wishes everyone a Happy, Healthy and Safe Holiday Season and Best Wishes for a Happy, Healthy New Year in 2019!

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited