Event Guide

Powered by:

Ruth Watson - Eclipse

Ruth Watson - Eclipse

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Wed 10 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 11 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 12 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 13 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 24 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 25 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 26 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 27 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 31 Oct ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Thu 1 Nov ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Fri 2 Nov ’18, 11:00am – 5:30pm
  • Sat 3 Nov ’18, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Bartley + Company Art, 56a Ghuznee St, Te Aro, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Leveraging off Auckland artist Ruth Watson's 4 Plinths project on the Te Papa forecourt, and over 30 solo exhibition in New Zealand, Australia, Europe and the United States, we are delighted to present her first commercial exhibition in Wellington in 25 years.

Eclipse conflates Watson’s longstanding interest in cartography with notions of waste, excess, redundancy and disquiet.

As in one work, a china clown juggles tiny globes, so too the artist plays with ideas, tapping into increasing global concerns about environmental management and the potential for disruption.

Alongside the clown and two new bronze globes, the exhibition includes unique photographs from the series Transient Global Amnesia, where scraps of decontextualised maps float mounted on aluminium in beautiful timber box frames.

The four giant globes on the four plinths outside Te Papa embody Watson's long-term investigation of the map and globe, not as a fixed signs, judged solely by geographic content, but as complex images under pressure. Wastage, brought into her new exhibition adds more pressure into this mix.

Ruth Watson is a senior lecturer at the Elam School of Fine Arts at the University of Auckland. She is giving a talk to the Wellington Sculpture Trust in the gallery at 5pm immediately preceding the opening. If you arrive before 6pm, you are welcome to enter quietly.

Please join Ruth in the gallery for the opening of her solo exhibition Wednesday 10th October - 6.00pm - 7.30pm. Exhibition continues until 3rd November 2018.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited