Event Guide

Powered by:

New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adults

New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adults

Sorry this event has been and gone


  • Wed 8 Aug ’18, 6:30pm – 8:00pm


Te Papa Te Marae, 55 Cable Street, Wellington


All Ages Licensed

Ticket Information:

  • General Admission: $49.12

These awards are a unique celebration of the contribution New Zealand’s children’s authors and illustrators make to building national identity and cultural heritage. On this night we celebrate finalists and announce winners!

The awards in the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are made in six categories: Young Adult Fiction (the Copyright Licensing NZ Award), Junior Fiction (the Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award), Non-Fiction (the Elsie Locke Award), Picture Book, Illustration (the Russell Clark Award) and the Wright Family Foundation Te Kura Pounamu Award (for books entirely written in Te Reo Māori).

Five finalists are selected for each category, and from these, a category winner is selected. All awards carry prize money of $7,500. In addition, the judges will award a best first book prize of $2,000 to a previously unpublished author or illustrator. The overall prize, the Margaret Mahy Book of the Year award, carries a prize of $7,500. The awards are judged by a panel of five. Te Kura Pounamu is judged by a separate panel of judges.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited