Event Guide

Powered by:

Madeleine Child: The Pale and Beyond

Madeleine Child: The Pale and Beyond

When:

  • Sun 18 Nov, 2:00pm – 4:30pm
  • Tue 20 Nov, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 21 Nov, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 22 Nov, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 23 Nov, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 24 Nov, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 27 Nov, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 28 Nov, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 29 Nov, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 30 Nov, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 1 Dec, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 4 Dec, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 5 Dec, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Dec, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 7 Dec, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Whitespace Contemporary Art, 20 Monmouth St, Ponsonby

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Netsuke Toggle Things
New ceramics by Madeleine Child.

It was seeing those tiny weeny thrown ceramics in the Museum that made me want to try working much smaller, and then from some recess I remembered Gillian Lowndes showing me Netsukes (but I was way too busy back then getting my college money's worth making huge things), 16th Century Japanese carved sculptural functional kimono pocket holding fashion accessory toggle artefacts with their Anything Goes subjects and either ricecake shaped or elongated with slits or solid 3D compact forms, and meant to be handled or rather fondled, fiddled with; and then if you muck about on the wheel these pretty much make themselves as throwing is always pulled up or poked at or opened out and then collapsed, either innie or outie, a thing or a hole, vessel or lump, positive or negative, and there’s that Grook about everything being either concave or - vex so everything being something with sex.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited