Event Guide

Powered by:

Light From Shadow; Scratchboard Art by Marion Brennan

Light From Shadow; Scratchboard Art by Marion Brennan

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 7 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 8 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 9 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 10 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 11 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 12 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 13 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 14 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 15 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 16 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 17 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 18 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 19 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 20 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 21 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 22 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 23 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 24 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 27 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 28 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 29 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 30 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 31 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 3 Jan ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, 16 Byron Street, Napier

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Light from Shadow is an exhibition of Scratch board Art by Marion Brennan.

Marion Brennan was born in South Africa but made New Zealand home 24 years ago. She has specialized in scratch board art for the last four years, and has held several successful solo exhibitions and shared exhibitions.

Marion has been accepted as an active member of the International Society of Scratch Board Artists based in the USA.

Her love of nature and wildlife reflects in Marion’s work. She spends many months of the year travelling and collecting material for her art.

Marion has undertaken commissions and sold work in the UK, USA, New Zealand and Africa. Marion’s art works are held in many private collections.

Join Marion to celebrate her opening on Friday 7 December, 5-7pm. All welcome!

Email - mb@prbnz.com
www.damascene.co.nz

What is Scratchboard art?
Scratchboard originated in the 19th century in Britain and France. It replaced engraving as a reproduction medium for scientific and medical illustrations.

Scratchboard as an art form is similar. The boards are made by covering a layer of white Kaolin clay with a layer of black India ink.

Sharp tools such as chisels, knives, steel wool needles or fibreglass pens are used to make marks on the boards, scratching away the black layer to expose the white clay.

Transparent coloured ink may then be applied to the exposed white areas. This part of the procedure is repeated many times, until a depth of colour and tone is achieved, by using different colours.

The art work is then sealed with a finishing spray.

Once the work is sealed touching does not affect the surface and can be treated as any other artwork.

The materials for scratch board work are obtainable in Australia or USA.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited