Event Guide

Powered by:

Kid's Night Walks

Kid's Night Walks

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 14 Apr ’18, 6:00pm – 7:30pm
  • Tue 17 Apr ’18, 5:45pm – 7:15pm
  • Sat 21 Apr ’18, 5:45pm – 7:15pm
  • Tue 24 Apr ’18, 5:45pm – 7:15pm
  • Thu 26 Apr ’18, 5:45pm – 7:15pm
  • Sat 28 Apr ’18, 5:45pm – 7:15pm
  • Sat 5 May ’18, 5:30pm – 7:00pm
  • Sat 19 May ’18, 5:15pm – 6:45pm
  • Sat 2 Jun ’18, 5:00pm – 6:30pm
  • Sat 9 Jun ’18, 5:00pm – 6:30pm
  • Sat 16 Jun ’18, 5:00pm – 6:30pm
  • Sat 23 Jun ’18, 5:00pm – 6:30pm
  • Sun 1 Jul ’18, 5:00pm – 6:30pm
  • Sat 7 Jul ’18, 5:00pm – 6:30pm
  • Tue 10 Jul ’18, 5:15pm – 6:45pm
  • Thu 12 Jul ’18, 5:15pm – 6:45pm
  • Sat 14 Jul ’18, 5:15pm – 6:45pm
  • Tue 17 Jul ’18, 5:15pm – 6:45pm
  • Thu 19 Jul ’18, 5:15pm – 6:45pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

ZEALANDIA Eco-Sanctuary, Waiapu Road, Karori, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Child (5-12): $20.00
  • Adult: $40.00

Experience the sights and sounds of Zealandia at night! Kids’ Night Walks are a fun and adventurous experience for families with younger children to witness the nocturnal species that only come out at night.

The tours are 1.5 hours and take place on mostly flat and easy walking tracks. You’ll need to dress up warmly, wear your sneakers or gumboots and bring a waterproof jacket with you, as the tours proceed rain or shine.

What You Might See:
Wētā, Glow-worms, Little Spotted Kiwi, Takahē, Tuatara, Kererū, Tui, Shags, Ruru/Morepork Torches will be provided, we use special red light torches that don’t disturb the wildlife.

Warm up at the end of the tour with a cup of hot chocolate and/or kawakawa (bushman’s tea) served at the Visitors Centre.

Older siblings are welcome to attend but please note that children over the age of 12 will be charged the $40 Adult rate.

For the safety and comfort of all attendees, we require a ratio of no more than three children per adult in attendance.

Start times vary based on sunset time. Between April – September the earliest tour start time is 5:15pm, with the latest being 6pm. You can check the tour start time when booking.

Overview:
Duration: 1.5 hours
Departing: Around dusk
Tours Available: 14 April – 29 September
Term time: Saturday nights
School holidays: Tues, Thurs, Sat nights
Maximum Capacity: 12 people per tour
Minimum Age: 5 years

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited