Event Guide

Powered by:

Kensington Swan Season of The Cherry Orchard

Kensington Swan Season of The Cherry Orchard

When:

  • Tue 12 Jun, 7:00pm
  • Wed 13 Jun, 7:00pm
  • Thu 14 Jun, 8:00pm
  • Fri 15 Jun, 8:00pm
  • Sat 16 Jun, 8:00pm
  • Tue 19 Jun, 7:00pm
  • Wed 20 Jun, 7:00pm
  • Thu 21 Jun, 8:00pm
  • Fri 22 Jun, 8:00pm
  • Sat 23 Jun, 2:00pm
  • Sat 23 Jun, 8:00pm
  • Sun 24 Jun, 4:00pm
  • Tue 26 Jun, 7:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

ASB Waterfront Theatre, 138 Halsey St, Auckland CBD Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

“If we’re going to change the world, we need to take responsibility for the things that have happened in our past.”

The Gayev family are sociable, intelligent, caring and hopelessly in debt. Unless they can find the funds, their huge estate, including its much-loved cherry orchard, will go to a mortgagee auction. The entrepreneurial son of their ex-farmhand offers them a solution, but they baulk at his proposal.

Racked by indecision and unable to comprehend the huge social changes on the horizon, they spend one last summer on their beautiful country property, conjuring memories of the past to mask their fears of the future.

Anton Chekhov remains one of the world’s greatest and most compassionate playwrights. His final masterpiece, The Cherry Orchard, is a tragicomedy: a laughter-through-tears tale told by sad clowns and self-made men.

Though it premiered in pre-revolution Russia, its prophetic passion and intimations of the social upheaval to come have a striking resonance for a modern audience in times of change.

Bask in the timely and timeless brilliance of this immortal theatre classic.
What’s past is prologue. Make a date with history and book now!

Direction: Colin McColl
Cast: Te Kohe Tuhaka, Andrew Grainger, Alison Bruce, Hera Dunleavy

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited