Event Guide

Powered by:

Falevai Flava

Falevai Flava

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 10 Mar ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 12 Mar ’18, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 13 Mar ’18, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 14 Mar ’18, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 15 Mar ’18, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 16 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 17 Mar, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 19 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 20 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 21 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 22 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 23 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 24 Mar, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 26 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 27 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 28 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 29 Mar, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 31 Mar, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 3 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 4 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 5 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 6 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 7 Apr, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 9 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 10 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 11 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Apr, 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Apr, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Mangere Arts Centre - Nga Tohu o Uenuku, Corner Orly Avenue & Bader Drive, Mangere Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Falevai Flava is a collaborative art project created by mother and daughter Sulieti Fieme’a Burrows and Tui Emma Gillies. In 2014, they travelled to Tonga to work on a large scale ngatu (tapa) making project in Burrows’ home village of Falevai.

The art of making ngatu had not been practised in the village for several decades and the artists worked with the women of Falevai to revive the tradition, by producing two large ngatu. Falevai Flava shows the stunning result of this unique collaboration through the display of both ngatu, with accompanying moving-image work providing insight into the story.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited