Event Guide

Powered by:

Suffrage 125 Exhibition

Suffrage 125 Exhibition

When:

  • Wed 19 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 20 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 21 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 22 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 23 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 24 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 25 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 26 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 27 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 28 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 29 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 30 Sep ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 1 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 2 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 3 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 4 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 5 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 6 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 7 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 8 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 9 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 10 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 11 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 12 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 13 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 14 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 15 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 16 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 17 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 18 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 19 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 20 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 21 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 22 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 23 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 24 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 25 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 26 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 27 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 28 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 29 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 30 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 31 Oct ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 1 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 2 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 3 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 4 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 5 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 6 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 7 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 8 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 9 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 10 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 11 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 12 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 13 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 14 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 15 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 16 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 17 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 18 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 19 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 20 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 21 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 22 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 23 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 24 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 25 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 26 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 27 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 28 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 29 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 30 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 1 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 2 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 3 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 4 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 5 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 6 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 7 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 8 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 9 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 10 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 11 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 12 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 13 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 14 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 15 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 16 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 17 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 18 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 19 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 20 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 21 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 22 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 23 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 24 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 26 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 27 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 28 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 29 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 30 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 31 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 1 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 2 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 3 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 4 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 5 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 6 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 7 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 8 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 9 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 10 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 11 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 12 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 13 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 14 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 15 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 16 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 17 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 18 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 19 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 20 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 21 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 22 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 23 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 24 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 25 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 26 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 27 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 28 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 29 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 30 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 31 Jan, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 1 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 2 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 3 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 4 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 5 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 6 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 7 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 8 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 9 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 10 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 11 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 12 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 13 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 14 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 15 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 16 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 17 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 18 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 19 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 20 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 21 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 22 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 23 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sun 24 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Mon 25 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 26 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 27 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 28 Feb, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Te Papa, 55 Cable St, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Te Papa

On 19 September, exactly 125 years since Aotearoa became the first self-governing country in the world to grant women the vote, Te Papa will open a pop-up exhibition, Te Tohe mō ngā Take Wāhine / Doing It for Themselves: Women Fight for Equality.

To honour Suffrage 125, Te Papa curators have initiated a special collecting project, sourcing contemporary items related to women’s rights. Recent acquisitions include a breast pump from former Green MP and writer Holly Walker, the NopeSisters T-shirt which addresses sexual abuse, a menstrual cup from MyCup, a company committed to ending period poverty, a suit worn by Dame Jenny Shipley on her first day in office as New Zealand’s first-ever female Prime Minister, and Luamanuvao Dame Winnie Laban’s puletasi (formal Sāmoan outfit) which she wore to give her maiden speech as New Zealand’s first Pacific Island female Member of Parliament.

The exhibition is located on level 3, Te Papa and will run until the end of February 2019.

There is also a range of events taking place at Te Papa around and in the lead-up to the anniversary of Suffrage 125 including:

Young Feminist Hui - Sat 15 September 10am-5pm, Te Huinga Centre, level 3, Te Papa, free
In collaboration with a team of young Wellington feminists from local high schools to discuss what the feminist landscape of modern Aotearoa looks like from a variety of different perspectives.

To book your place visit: tepapa.govt/hui

Exhibition tours and talks - throughout October 2018
Join us for a series of curator lead tours of Te Tohe mō ngā Take Wāhine/Doing It for Themselves: Women Fight for Equality.

Kids Polling Booth - Sat 24 & Sun 25 November, free
To mark the day that women first voted in 1893, Te Papa invites young people and their whānau to participate in a Kids’ Polling Booth, in partnership with Barbarian Productions.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited