Event Guide

Powered by:

Ambitious Gisborne Women

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 9 Nov ’18, 5:30pm – 7:00pm
  • Sat 10 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 17 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 24 Nov ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 1 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 8 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 15 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 22 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 29 Dec ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 5 Jan ’19, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 12 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 19 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 26 Jan, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 2 Feb, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 9 Feb, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 16 Feb, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 23 Feb, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 2 Mar, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 3 Mar, 1:30pm – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Tairawhiti Museum, Stout St, Gisborne

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Ambitious Gisborne Women - 10 November 2018 - 3 March 2019.

Opening 5:30pm, 9 Novemeber 2018
Public talk by Jean Johnston, 5:30pm 19 September 2018.

On 19 September 1893 New Zealand became the first self-governing country in the world in which women had the right to vote in parliamentary elections.

This exhibition tells the local story – demonstrating how well Gisborne women mobilised to go to the polls for the first time on 28 November 1893.

The sheets of names of the women of this region who signed the 1893 Suffrage Petition have been lost but we do have a record of the over 200 women who signed the 1892 petition.

Gisborne women formed a number of active political groups leading to an 1894 newspaper headline throughout the country referring to them as ‘Ambitious Gisborne Women’.

The exhibition will profile some of these (mainly unknown) women and the women’s groups they belonged to. Items from the museum’s collection on display include a bible belonging to Gisborne political activist and community leader Margaret Home Sievwright.
- Jean Johnston, Curator

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited