Event Guide

Powered by:

Siapo Cinema 2017

Siapo Cinema 2017

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Wed 20 Sep ’17, 1:00pm
  • Thu 21 Sep ’17, 1:00pm
  • Fri 22 Sep ’17, 1:00pm
  • Sat 23 Sep ’17, 1:00pm
  • Wed 27 Sep ’17, 1:00pm
  • Thu 28 Sep ’17, 1:00pm
  • Fri 29 Sep ’17, 1:00pm
  • Sat 30 Sep ’17, 1:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Nga Taonga Sound & Vision, 84 Taranaki St, Te Aro, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Siapo Cinema 2017 celebrates the people and culture of the Pacific with a vibrant festival of feature films, short films, music, documentaries, panel discussions and archival film compilations along with live performances and creative activities.

The festival kicks off at our Wellington venue on Wednesday, 20 September at Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision, 84 Taranaki Street, Wellington and runs through to Saturday, 30 September.

Highlights of the programme include:
One Thousand Ropes, a powerful character drama from Tusi Tamasese about a father reconnecting with his youngest daughter and together, putting to rest the ghosts that haunt them.

Pacific Underground: Spring Silent Films, a specially-curated selection of film excerpts from around the Pacific, dating from 1907 through to the 1950s, with musical accompaniment from acclaimed performing art company, Pacific Underground.

Cinema Pasifika Short, an eclectic selection of short films from around the Pacific, that covers topics as diverse as hair history and lumberjacks. Pasiflix: A Pacific Film Quiz Night and ULA Lei making workshops in our cafe.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited