Event Guide

Powered by:

Rewa Walia: Abducted

Rewa Walia: Abducted

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Wed 27 Dec ’17, 4:30pm – 6:00pm
  • Thu 28 Dec ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 29 Dec ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 30 Dec ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 2 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 3 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 4 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 5 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 6 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 9 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 10 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 11 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 12 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 13 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 15 Jan ’18, 12:00pm – 4:30pm
  • Tue 16 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 4:30pm
  • Wed 17 Jan ’18, 10:00am – 3:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Depot Artspace, 28 Clarence Street, Devonport

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Rewa Walia

While the Depot Artspace team take a well-deserved summer break, artist Rewa Walia will take up residence in the Main Gallery space from the 28 December 2017 – 17 January 2018 with her new show, Abducted.

Abducted explores the possibility of the blurring of cultural identities and a newly formed universal identity which everyone can relate to, by adapting the old New Zealand icons, brand logos and brand ambassadors from communication and advertising messaging and fusing them with the global icons of the digital world.

Walia’s interest in blurring cultural boundaries and forming a new visual language with the old and new, is bold and refreshing. In doing so she challenges mediums of expression by fusing classic mediums with digital and new age mediums.

The result: artworks that delve into the medium of communication from the past and present in New Zealand, with an emphasis on social media and the need for repetition inherent in mass communication.

This commonality in symbolic identification is the true nature of the Abducted series, as Walia explains, “We live in a world driven by choices, some forced upon us and others we make to fit in, creating an altered identity far removed from nature. Media, food, communication, health, lifestyle and everything we spend our time and money on is based on comparisons with others; we want to be better at the game. Abducted is a series akin to a reflection in the mirror, showing us how trapped we really are.”

Abducted officially opens on Wednesday 27 December 2017, 4:30pm - 6:30pm in the Main Gallery, Depot Artspace.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited