Event Guide

Powered by:

Preconscious

Preconscious

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 22 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 23 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 24 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 25 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 26 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 27 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 28 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 29 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 30 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 1 Oct ’17, 10:00am – 2:00pm
  • Mon 2 Oct ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 3 Oct ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 4 Oct ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 5 Oct ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Creative Arts Napier, Community Arts Centre, 16 Byron Street, Napier

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

The day John Boyd-Dunlop picked up a watercolour pencil about a year ago at the age of 68, his new career was cemented and his life of stress was converted. His humorously clever observations of the more interesting times in his life are quirky, executed in a naïve style that put his work in the category of an outsider artist.

The pensioner who after a lifetime of cut-throat business stress and a roller-coaster ride through is life is sitting back, reflectively and reverting back to those childhood days of innocence.

John was lucky enough to visit Niue a few years ago, and the resulting images that are on show here are memories of this visit, from the flowery dancing to the snapping dogs and screeching cats, to the larger than life roosters annoying everyone, man and animal.

These are the sorts of things that are left broiling in the subconscious of children and travellers into old age, but they very rarely materialise into a form of expression, like John’s.

These works are a miniscule example of John’s output that comes spewing off his drawing pad every day. His passion to celebrate a hard, but wonderful life while filtering out any negatives leaves humour, innocence and happiness seen through the eyes of an older man seeking that long-gone spirit of a 6 year old.

Meet John at his opening on Friday 22 September, 5-7pm, all welcome.

Unframed work will also be available for purchase during the exhibition and you will find printed cards by John in the can shop for $5 each.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited