Event Guide

Powered by:

Miranda Parkes: The Merrier

Miranda Parkes: The Merrier

When:

  • Fri 21 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 22 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 24 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 25 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 26 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 27 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 28 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 29 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 31 Jul, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 1 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 2 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 3 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 4 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 5 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 7 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 8 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 9 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 10 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 11 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 12 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 14 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 15 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 16 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 17 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 18 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 19 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 21 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 22 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 23 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 24 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 25 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 26 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 28 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 29 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 30 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 31 Aug, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 1 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 2 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 4 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 5 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 6 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 7 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 8 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 9 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 11 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 12 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 13 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 14 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 15 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 16 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 18 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 19 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 20 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 21 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 22 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 23 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 25 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 26 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 27 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 28 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 29 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 30 Sep, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 2 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 3 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 4 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 5 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 6 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 7 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 9 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 10 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 11 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 16 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 17 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 18 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 23 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 24 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 25 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Oct, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Hocken Collections, 90 Anzac Ave, Dunedin Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Saturday 22 July, 2pm
Exhibition floor talk: Join artist Miranda Parkes with curator Andrea Bell for a tour of ‘the merrier’.

Drawing on the expanded field of painting, Miranda Parkes makes art that speaks to the bodily experience and subjectivity of abstraction. Known for her puffed, twisting, bulging, works, she treats painting as a spatial medium and creates works that are physical, sculptural and material.

The language of painting and textual references filter through her new body of work for ‘the merrier’, in which she playfully alludes to the overlap between art, poetry and everyday life. In testing the qualities of her materials, Parkes simultaneously reveres and rejects the ideals of modernism. If painting is a text, Parkes questions not what is written, but how it is read, and by whom?

A publication designed by Daniel Alexander Blackball will accompany the exhibition with texts by Sharon Dell, Robyn Notman, Andrea Bell, Sophie Bannan and Miranda Parkes, along with studio photography and working drawings. The publication will be available for purchase from the Hocken and selected stockists.

About the Frances Hodgkins Fellowship:
The Frances Hodgkins Fellowship was established by the University of Otago Council in 1962, largely through the efforts of Dunedin philanthropists that contributed funding to support the Fellowship.

The Fellowship was intended to ‘encourage artists in the practice and advancement of their art’ by providing them with a studio and a year’s stipend, to aid and encourage painters, sculptors and multi-media artists, while at the same time associating them with the life of the University and fostering an interest in the Arts within the University.

It was named after Dunedin-born Frances Hodgkins, one of New Zealand's most distinguished painters.

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited