Event Guide

Powered by:

Gait Transition Study: Should We Walk Or Run?

Gait Transition Study: Should We Walk Or Run?

When:

  • Mon 21 Aug, 8:00am
  • Tue 22 Aug, 8:00am
  • Wed 23 Aug, 8:00am
  • Thu 24 Aug, 8:00am
  • Fri 25 Aug, 8:00am
  • Sat 26 Aug, 8:00am
  • Sun 27 Aug, 8:00am
  • Mon 28 Aug, 8:00am
  • Tue 29 Aug, 8:00am
  • Wed 30 Aug, 8:00am
  • Thu 31 Aug, 8:00am
  • Fri 1 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sat 2 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sun 3 Sep, 8:00am
  • Mon 4 Sep, 8:00am
  • Tue 5 Sep, 8:00am
  • Wed 6 Sep, 8:00am
  • Thu 7 Sep, 8:00am
  • Fri 8 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sat 9 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sun 10 Sep, 8:00am
  • Mon 11 Sep, 8:00am
  • Tue 12 Sep, 8:00am
  • Wed 13 Sep, 8:00am
  • Thu 14 Sep, 8:00am
  • Fri 15 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sat 16 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sun 17 Sep, 8:00am
  • Mon 18 Sep, 8:00am
  • Tue 19 Sep, 8:00am
  • Wed 20 Sep, 8:00am
  • Thu 21 Sep, 8:00am
  • Fri 22 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sat 23 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sun 24 Sep, 8:00am
  • Mon 25 Sep, 8:00am
  • Tue 26 Sep, 8:00am
  • Wed 27 Sep, 8:00am
  • Thu 28 Sep, 8:00am
  • Fri 29 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sat 30 Sep, 8:00am
  • Sun 1 Oct, 8:00am
  • Mon 2 Oct, 8:00am
  • Tue 3 Oct, 8:00am
  • Wed 4 Oct, 8:00am
  • Thu 5 Oct, 8:00am
  • Fri 6 Oct, 8:00am
  • Sat 7 Oct, 8:00am
  • Sun 8 Oct, 8:00am
  • Mon 9 Oct, 8:00am
  • Tue 10 Oct, 8:00am
  • Wed 11 Oct, 8:00am
  • Thu 12 Oct, 8:00am
  • Fri 13 Oct, 8:00am
  • Sat 14 Oct, 8:00am
  • Sun 15 Oct, 8:00am
  • Mon 16 Oct, 8:00am
  • Tue 17 Oct, 8:00am
  • Wed 18 Oct, 8:00am
  • Thu 19 Oct, 8:00am
  • Fri 20 Oct, 8:00am
  • Sat 21 Oct, 8:00am
  • Sun 22 Oct, 8:00am
  • Mon 23 Oct, 8:00am
  • Tue 24 Oct, 8:00am
  • Wed 25 Oct, 8:00am
  • Thu 26 Oct, 8:00am
  • Fri 27 Oct, 8:00am
  • Sat 28 Oct, 8:00am
  • Sun 29 Oct, 8:00am
  • Mon 30 Oct, 8:00am
  • Tue 31 Oct, 8:00am
  • Wed 1 Nov, 8:00am
  • Thu 2 Nov, 8:00am
  • Fri 3 Nov, 8:00am
  • Sat 4 Nov, 8:00am
  • Sun 5 Nov, 8:00am
  • Mon 6 Nov, 8:00am
  • Tue 7 Nov, 8:00am
  • Wed 8 Nov, 8:00am
  • Thu 9 Nov, 8:00am
  • Fri 10 Nov, 8:00am
  • Sat 11 Nov, 8:00am
  • Sun 12 Nov, 8:00am
  • Mon 13 Nov, 8:00am
  • Tue 14 Nov, 8:00am
  • Wed 15 Nov, 8:00am
  • Thu 16 Nov, 8:00am
  • Fri 17 Nov, 8:00am
  • Sat 18 Nov, 8:00am
  • Sun 19 Nov, 8:00am
  • Mon 20 Nov, 8:00am
  • Tue 21 Nov, 8:00am
  • Wed 22 Nov, 8:00am
  • Thu 23 Nov, 8:00am
  • Fri 24 Nov, 8:00am
  • Sat 25 Nov, 8:00am
  • Sun 26 Nov, 8:00am
  • Mon 27 Nov, 8:00am
  • Tue 28 Nov, 8:00am
  • Wed 29 Nov, 8:00am
  • Thu 30 Nov, 8:00am
  • View all sessions

Where:

Massey University, Wallace St, Mt Cook, Wellington Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Interested in sport and exercise science? Need a study break? Come get involved and learn more about how you walk and run!

There’s currently an exciting opportunity for kids and teens to try 3D motion capture and learn about how their body works during exercise at Massey University’s School of Sport and Exercise!

What's the aim of the study?
To investigate how age and body size affects the way children walk and run, including how their joints move, how hard their muscles are working and how much energy their body is using while walking and running on a treadmill at various speeds and how these factors compare to healthy young adults.

We're hoping to identify modifiable barriers to exercise participation to help address why some children and adolescents, are not meeting the recommended amount of physical activity.

What's involved:
- Three visits to Massey University, each lasting approximately 2–3 hours (up to 7 hours for all 3 sessions)
- Participants will be asked to complete walking and running activities on a treadmill
- Session times are flexible

We’re looking for 10–17-year-olds who would like to get involved in the study. Participants will receive $30 worth of vouchers for their time!

For more information, please contact Stacey and ask about the 'Gait Transition' study.

Email: s.kung@massey.ac.nz

People who liked this also checked out

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited