Event Guide

Powered by:

Fluid

Fluid

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 8 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 9 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 10 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 11 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 12 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 13 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 14 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 15 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 16 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 17 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 18 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 19 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 20 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 21 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 22 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 23 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 24 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 25 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 25 Sep, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Black Asterisk, 10 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Black Asterisk

Fluid an exhibition by Jill McIntosh.

Preview Friday 6pm September 8th.

In these recent works, Jill McIntosh continues her investigation into alteration. The photographs and drawings show elements disordered through the flux of light, heat, liquid and air. Light becomes the conduit for the saturation of liquid on the surface. As in Jill’s previous works, the drawings and photographs operate on the horizontal and record movement on and just below the surface.

In the drawings, she records the multiple, random and chaotic play of light on water. In the photographs, the water and the liquid glass glaze acts to challenge our sense of surface depth and of the vertical. It is the fusing of these elements and the suspension of light that creates the fluid surface.

Jill McIntosh’s interest is in an autonomous way that the chemical reactions between fire, earth, water and air connect with light. She looks at the surface of the water as continually altering, randomly but rhythmically in the natural world. There continues to be an interest for Jill in how we find order in the unpredictable world around us.

For this exhibition, Jill has created a series of chalk pastel drawings and photographs that capture the constant change of light on water. In the photographs of glazed ceramic surfaces, she looks at how the glaze reacts to heat on the clay and is altered through the firing process. She has drawn parallels between the ideas in the photographs and the drawings by depicting surface depth, alteration and light.

Jill McIntosh’s work investigates the space between ideas and processes. By training as a printmaker, she developed skills in drawing and translation. Jill’s work reflects her investigation into ideas of alteration and random fluctuating events.

Born in New Zealand, McIntosh graduated from the University of Canterbury before setting up the Printworkshop at the Wellington Arts Centre. While a recipient of a Major Travel Grant, she studied at the University of Wisconsin. As Education Curator at the Wellington City Gallery McIntosh edited Contemporary New Zealand Prints published by Allen and Unwin.

Now living in Auckland McIntosh has completed her Masters of Fine Arts and her Diploma of Secondary Teaching at the University of Auckland. Her work is in the National Collection, the James Wallace Collection and private collections.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited