Event Guide

Powered by:

Emily Hartley-Skudder: Fourth Wall

Emily Hartley-Skudder: Fourth Wall

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Wed 8 Feb ’17, 5:30pm – 7:00pm
  • Thu 9 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 10 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 11 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 14 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 15 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 16 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 17 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 18 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 21 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 22 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 23 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 24 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 25 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 28 Feb ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Wed 1 Mar ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Thu 2 Mar ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Fri 3 Mar ’17, 11:00am – 6:00pm
  • Sat 4 Mar ’17, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Suite Gallery, 241 Cuba Street, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

{Suite}

The Fourth Wall is the division between illusion and reality; the actual and the artificial. Viewers see through this invisible wall into a cross section of a stage; a showroom, a dolls house, a dressed set. Emily Hartley-Skudder’s practice experiments with different layers of reality - found objects from ‘life’, yet already existing as replicas, are obsessively collected, assembled and photographed before being translated into paint.

This process of removal promotes the creation of the uncanny; the seemingly standard objects gradually separate from their initial reading. The inclusion of domestic flooring suggests a kind of ‘faux ordinary’: the artificial yet homely; the familiarly strange.

The show’s title alludes to the breaking down of the so-called painted illusion. The zooming out of the lens reveals folded edges and shadows of rudimentary paper set-ups. Some physical objects sit on top of painted surfaces, combining Hartley-Skudder’s starting point of real-life objects with the succeeding painted representation, bringing the artist’s process full-circle.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited