Event Guide

Powered by:

David Barker: Fragments

David Barker: Fragments

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 25 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 26 Mar ’17, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 27 Mar ’17, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 28 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 29 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 30 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 31 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 1 Apr ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 2 Apr ’17, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 3 Apr ’17, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 4 Apr ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 5 Apr ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 6 Apr ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 7 Apr ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 8 Apr ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 9 Apr ’17, 11:00am – 3:00pm
  • Mon 10 Apr ’17, 12:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Tue 11 Apr ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 12 Apr ’17, 10:00am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Depot Artspace, 28 Clarence Street, Devonport Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Depot Artspace

David Barker’s new series of work, Fragments, paintings of sea shells, sheds, ships, and skyscapes, further explores Barker’s fascination with water and other natural elements including clouds. David enjoys meeting people who come to see his paintings and will be in the gallery for the duration of the exhibition.

In 2014 David Barker exhibited his stunning Shadow Series at the Depot Artspace, which were unified by cast shadows, was described by art critic T.J McNamara as being “done with masterly technique. More than that, the paintings are tightly composed so they have an organised strength that is not centred but articulated across the whole painting and linked by the relationship between structures and fascinating analysis of the shadows they cast.” (NZ Herald, World of Light and Shadows T.J. McNamara, May 17, 2014).

This year we are excited to welcome David Barker back to the Depot with his new series, Paintings of sea shells, sheds, ships, and skyscapes, which, while thematically different provide another opportunity “to see the quality of draughtsmanship, painting and colour of one of our most accomplished traditional artists, whose accuracy and style goes far beyond simple realism.” T.J. McNamara (Ibid.)

The exhibition, comprising of 32 new works, features two free standing bifold screens, each a montage of marine images, and are included with four ‘shed’ paintings based on location sketches, along with ‘skyscapes’ inspired “by a flight in a Boeing Dreamliner over the considerable breadth of Canada.”

In Barker’s own words, “even with years of practice, painting has never become easy. I cannot say how long it takes to do a specific painting. The duration varies. Some paintings demand more time than others, but for me, all share an element of chance or risk. Each is but a ‘fragment’, a fixed format, a visual patch of life passing by.”

The Depot has been exceptionally impressed by Barker’s refined methodologies and techniques and is thrilled to be exhibiting is work once again. Barker works from his studio on the Devonport waterfront.

Please join us for the exhibition opening of Fragments by David Barker on Saturday 25 March from 2 – 3:3 pm. The exhibition runs from the 25 March – 12 April. The Depot is open Monday 12pm-5pm, Tuesday-Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 11am-3pm (Public Holidays vary).

David Barker Artist's Talk - 2 April, 2-3pm.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited