Event Guide

Powered by:

Children of Cambodia

Children of Cambodia

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 15 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 16 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 17 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 18 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 19 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 20 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 21 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 22 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 23 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 24 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 25 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 26 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 27 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 28 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 29 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 30 Sep ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 1 Oct ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Studio 541, 541 Mount Eden Rd, Mt Eden

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

A whole generation of artists, intellectuals and teachers was lost to Cambodia at the hands of the brutal Khmer Rouge regime in the 1970s. Many families in Cambodia still live in desperate poverty but the country is gradually taking charge of its future, one child at a time.

Auckland photographer Stacey Simpkin photographed some of these children during visits to Cambodia with the New Zealand-based Cambodia Charitable Trust. The Trust was established by Tauranga lawyer Denise Arnold to bring hope and opportunity to the rural poor of Cambodia, through education and community development.

It has grown to support 6000 children in 16 schools, as well as two teacher-training colleges, attracting support from some of New Zealand’s biggest names, with Theresa Gattung as its patron and Nadia Lim an ambassador.

Last year, one of the trust’s early schools, Aug Chhum Primary, was awarded the accolade of being one of the top 10 schools in the country, out of 11,200 schools.

All this has been achieved through the charity of New Zealanders who have donated time and money to the Trust.

This exhibition celebrates a rising generation of children, the transformative power of education and the gift of charity.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited