Event Guide

Powered by:

Tony Bond - 'Plunge'

Tony Bond - 'Plunge'

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Fri 15 Apr ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 16 Apr ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 17 Apr ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 21 Apr ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 22 Apr ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 23 Apr ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 24 Apr ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 28 Apr ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 29 Apr ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 30 Apr ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 1 May ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 5 May ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 6 May ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 7 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 8 May ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 12 May ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 May ’16, 1:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 15 May ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

50 Works Gallery, 50 London Street, Lyttelton, Banks Peninsula

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

50 Works Gallery

Beautifully crafted, biomorphic ‘Cr-formunculae’ playfully traverse the walls of Lyttelton’s 50 Works Gallery in an exhibition by Christchurch artist Tony Bond.

These organic sculptures hint at possible lifeforms – humorously imagined, strangely familiar, but not of this world. Tony Bond’s work presents objects that attract and repel, sooth and alarm – their sensual forms are deliberately ambiguous, inviting the viewer to speculate about their origin and purpose.

Some may view these works as suggestive, others see abstracted representations of birds, animals or body parts. Cleverly, what these works do is elicit from each of us the point when an abstract shape becomes familiar and sometimes unsettling.

Other works in the exhibition include a large-scale drawing – a prelude to the ‘Cr-formunculae’, and a large stainless steel sculpture.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited