Event Guide

Powered by:

Process

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Mon 1 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00pm
  • Tue 2 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Wed 3 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Thu 4 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Fri 5 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Sat 6 Aug ’16, 5:30pm – 12:00am
  • Mon 8 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Tue 9 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Wed 10 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Thu 11 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Fri 12 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Sat 13 Aug ’16, 5:30am – 12:00am
  • Mon 15 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Tue 16 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Wed 17 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Thu 18 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Fri 19 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Mon 22 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Tue 23 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Wed 24 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Thu 25 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Fri 26 Aug ’16, 8:00am – 12:00am
  • Sat 27 Aug ’16, 12:00pm – 12:00am
  • Sun 28 Aug ’16, 2:00pm – 12:00am
  • View all sessions

Where:

Q Theatre, 305 Queen Street, Auckland CBD Show map

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Official Website

John McDermott was appointed the Company Photographer at the inception of The New Zealand Dance Company, spearheaded by Artistic Director and now Chief Executive Shona McCullagh. Shona regarded the capturing of the dancers’ and choreographers’ process as a vital part of the Company’s work.

Over the years, an extraordinarily intimate collection of photographs of the Company in rehearsal have been gathered, producing an astonishing record of the not often seen process of dance creation. This historical record of images is accompanied by a book, 'process' by John McDermott, created in partnership with NZDC with a foreword essay written by Michael Parmenter.

The exhibition prints and the book 'process' are available for purchase to support fundraising for NZDC at the website.

“Focusing as it does particularly on the creative process of dance alone, that the tension, even the paradox that exists between dance and photography, between a temporal 'process' and the captured moment, is brought to the fore.” - Michael Parmenter, Choreographer.

NZDC premieres their latest production The Absurdity of Humanity here at Q Theatre 24 - 27 August. Artistic Director Shona McCullagh couples the striking works of Ross McCormack (Matter) and Lina Limosani (Whispers from Pandora’s Box) to form a stageblazing trans-Tasman double bill.

Book now!

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited