Event Guide

Powered by:

Orchestra Wellington - To The Memory of An Angel

Sorry this event has been and gone


  • Sat 10 Sep ’16, 7:00pm


Michael Fowler Centre, 111 Wakefield Street, Wellington


All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • GA ADULT: $60.00
  • GOLD CARD: $50.00
  • CHILD: $10.00
  • STUDENT: $12.00

Our Fourth Subscription Series concert tells a real story. We hear three final works by composers closely associated with Vienna – Mahler, Schubert and Berg.
Gustav Mahler (1860–1911)
From Symphony No. 10
Composed 1910–1911

Alban Berg (1885–1935)
Violin Concerto
“in Memory of An Angel”*
Composed 1935

Wilma Smith Violin

Franz Schubert (1797–1828)
Symphony No. 9 In C Major, “the Great” D. 944
Composed 1828

Each demonstrating a century of visionary music from this great culture. The Adagio from Mahler’s un finished last symphony is a profound work that suggests areas that Mahler may have explored had he lived a normal life span. In a way, the Berg Violin Concerto – undoubtedly one of the most popular of the 20th century – takes up where the Mahler leaves o . We are pleased that we have Wilma Smith – a student of Louis Krasner, who commissioned the Berg – to play this deepest of all violin concertos.

It seemed fitting to end with Schubert’s great C Major Symphony. To use the word monumental is not too strong a descriptor for this symphony. It is a high water for early Romanticism and was to prove hugely influential to later composers.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited