Event Guide

Powered by:

On Heterotopian Boundaries

On Heterotopian Boundaries

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 14 May ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 16 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 17 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 18 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 19 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 20 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 21 May ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 23 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 24 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 25 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 26 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 27 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 28 May ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 30 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 31 May ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 1 Jun ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 2 Jun ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 3 Jun ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 4 Jun ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Mon 6 Jun ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 7 Jun ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 8 Jun ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 9 Jun ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 10 Jun ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sat 11 Jun ’16, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Photospace, Level 1, 37 Courtenay Place, Wellington

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Artist Gil Eva Craig loves to capture the un-definable areas on the edges of spaces and has created a photography exhibition celebrating the often-overlooked human defined ‘boundaries’ all around us.

Craig describes Heterotopian Boundaries as human defined geography that is both the physical areas of transition where a space ends, sometimes abruptly, or transitions to either an ‘other’ space or to a ‘non’ space.

“So basically, I spend quite a bit of time lurking behind buildings, down banks in drains, in gardens and parks, in wastelands, churches, cemeteries and temples, where I’m trying to make some temporal order and sense out of what I see and feel in these places, which are at times, distinctly preternatural.” - Gil Eva Craig.

Heterotopia is a spatial construct that was outlined in a tantalizingly sparse manner by Michel Foucault, most famously in a talk to a group of Architects in France in 1966.

In this talk, he describes certain spaces as ‘Heterotopian’, in that they conformed to a set of loosely defined relational principles. Heterotopias include, and are not limited to human made spaces such as libraries, hotels, performance spaces, gardens, cemeteries, religious sites and gated communities.

The Heterotopian construct has also been interpreted beyond physical spaces to include cyberspaces, phone calls, mirrors, and other abstract concepts of reality… and unreality.

“I’m attracted to the random, the abnormal, the mundane and coincidence… the things I find that span time and space – repeating themes I find from one country and year to the next.” - Gil Eva Craig

This is the first solo exhibition for Craig, who has been working on this material for the past four years. The images were taken in New Zealand, Australia, USA, Canada, Japan, Nepal, England and Scotland, on holiday and work trips. The most recent trip was to the United States with the Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra as their sound engineer.

The works are limited edition prints available for sale – all printed by the artist.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2018, NZME. Publishing Limited