Event Guide

Powered by:

Ko Rongowhakaata

Ko Rongowhakaata

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 17 Dec ’16, 10:00am – 6:00pm
  • Tue 20 Dec ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 27 Dec ’16, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 3 Jan ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 10 Jan ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 17 Jan ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 24 Jan ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 31 Jan ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 7 Feb ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 14 Feb ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 21 Feb ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 28 Feb ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 7 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 14 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 21 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 28 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 29 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Thu 30 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Fri 31 Mar ’17, 10:00am – 4:00pm
  • Sun 21 May ’17, 1:00pm – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Tairawhiti Museum, Stout St, Gisborne

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • local residents: $2.00
  • visitors: $5.00
  • children 12 and under, friends of the museum, locals on Mondays: $0.00

Open from 17 December 2016 - 21 May 2017.

Mauri Tangata
Mauri Kōrero
Mauri Whenua

Te kotahi ā Tūrāhiri, ripo ana te moana.

Descendants of Tūrāhiri, the ancestress of the Rongowhakaata people, are progenitors of unique talents, innovation, and craftsmanship; a quality that has rippled and propagated throughout the land and throughout Rongowhakaata history. These qualities continue to exist in the Rongowhakaata uri (descendants) today and will be reflected in this exhibition.

This exhibition is the second part of a three-part exhibition series for Rongowhakaata. Part one was the successful Rongowhakaata marae-based exhibition earlier this year and part three will be the iwi exhibition at Te Papa Tongarewa in 2017.

This exhibition is about Rongowhakaata reaffirming who they are as a people, and re-telling their stories in their homelands so that the next generation can hear, see, and feel Rongowhakaata history and the unique experiences that build the fabric of the Rongowhakaata people. It is an immersion into facets of the world of Rongowhakaata people, both old and new, as expressed through their historical and contemporary arts.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited