Event Guide

Powered by:

Women's Basketball Championship

Women's Basketball Championship

Sorry this event has been and gone


  • Fri 17 Apr ’15, 10:00am – 10:00pm
  • Sat 18 Apr ’15, 9:00am – 10:00pm
  • Sun 19 Apr ’15, 8:30am – 8:00pm


Allan Brewster Recreation Centre, Cnr Tavern Lane & Stadium Lane, Papatoetoe


All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Adults per day: $5.00
  • Adults for 3 days: $10.00
  • School age children: $0.00
  • Purchase Lady Hawks T-shirt for free entry: $20.00

The Women’s Basketball Championship (WBC) is the premier competition for women in New Zealand. The WBC replaced the Women’s Basketball League (WBL) in 2009 and is a joint venture between Basketball New Zealand and Associations.

The WBC is played over three tournaments, with two tournaments covering round robin games and the last tournament is a playoff series.

The WBC is in its seventh edition with a record breaking 12 teams making up the 2015 WBC; nine regulars maintaining their spot, the return of Taranaki Thunder and two new additions Tauranga City Coasters and Te Tai Tokerau Phoenix.

The WBC takes on a slightly different format this year as some games will be played outside the three tournament weekends, in an attempt to promote the women’s games and profile the players in their local associations.

This is the first of the three tournaments. The 2015 Women's Basketball Championship Teams competing:
Auckland Counties Manukau Lady Hawks
Bartercard Taranaki Thunder
Capital Flyers
Harbour Breeze
New Zealand Home Loans Canterbury Wildcats
Oceana Gold Rush Otago
ProBands Nelson Sparks
Rotorua Lady Vols
Tauranga City Coasters
Te Tai Tokerau Phoenix
Waikato Wizards
Waitakere Lady Rangers

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited