Event Guide

Powered by:

The Pianist

The Pianist

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Wed 8 Apr ’15, 7:00pm
  • Thu 9 Apr ’15, 11:00am
  • Thu 9 Apr ’15, 7:00pm
  • Fri 10 Apr ’15, 7:00pm
  • Sat 11 Apr ’15, 7:00pm
  • Sun 12 Apr ’15, 2:00pm
  • Tue 14 Apr ’15, 11:00am
  • Wed 15 Apr ’15, 11:00am
  • Thu 16 Apr ’15, 7:00pm
  • Fri 17 Apr ’15, 7:00pm
  • Sat 18 Apr ’15, 11:00am
  • Sat 18 Apr ’15, 7:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Herald Theatre, Aotea Centre, 50 Mayoral Dr, Auckland CBD

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Family Price (2x adults & 2x children): $60.00
  • Tickets: $18.00

Website:

Trailer

Auckland Live, Show Pony and Circo Aereo present The Pianist
Directed by Thomas Monckton & Sanna Silvenoinen. Performed by Thomas Monckton.

“It would be no exaggeration to declare Thomas Monckton nothing short of a genius *****” - Broadway Baby (UK)

Following a successful North Island tour and sell-out seasons in both Finland and Wellington, the show that has captured the imaginations of audiences both young and old is finally playing Auckland, for a strictly limited season at the Herald Theatre from 8-18 April.

The Pianist is a solo comic contemporary circus piece by Thomas Monckton (Moving Stationery) and Circo Aereo (Finland). This hilarious work is centred on, in, under, and around one of the most magnificent of all musical instruments, the grand piano.

Engaging and energetic, Monckton plays the concert pianist whose recital is an absolute catastrophe right from the beginning. He is a man so focused on impressing everyone that before he realises it, his show has transformed from the highbrow concert he hoped for, into absolute bedlam. As the grand piano takes on a life of its own, Monckton’s visceral playground of comical chaos and unexpected turns takes audiences of all ages on a journey that simply cannot be missed.

The Pianist mixes classical clowning with contemporary circus to produce a charming piece of comedy about the lure of luxury. After the success of touring Europe, Nelson and Tauranga in 2013, The Pianist made its Wellington premiere at Circa Theatre in April 2014 before going onto a sell-out North Island tour. Monckton then once again took the international stage by storm at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival 2014. Following its Auckland season The Pianist will tour Keri Keri as part of the Upsurge Festival, Wanaka's Festival of Colour, Invercargill, and Dunedin.

“This is physical comedy at its very best, on a par with the great silent movies of Chaplin, Keaton and others. Thomas Monckton is a comic genius. Miss him at your peril” - The Dominion Post (NZ)

Pre-sale with Ticketmaster Monday 2 March.
General Public on sale Tuesday 3 March.

The Pianist plays
Wednesday 8 April – Saturday 18 April at 7pm
Thurs 9 Apr, Tues 14 April, Wed 15 April and Sat 18 April at 11am. Sunday 12 April at 2pm.
Herald Theatre, Aotea Centre
Duration; 60 mins (no interval)
Tickets: $18-$35. Family price $60 (two adults, two children). Service fees apply.
Bookings: 09 970 9700 //

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited