Event Guide

Powered by:

Niki Hastings-McFall: Flock

Niki Hastings-McFall: Flock

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Tue 10 Mar ’15, 5:00pm – 7:30pm
  • Wed 11 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Wed 18 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 24 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 25 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • Tue 31 Mar ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 1 Apr ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 2 Apr ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 3 Apr ’15, 11:00am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 4 Apr ’15, 11:00am – 4:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

Whitespace Contemporary Art, 20 Monmouth St, Ponsonby

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

Website:

Whitespace

Niki Hastings-McFall's new exhibition at Whitespace follows a continuum of ideas and expressions of her concerns for the protection of environmental and cultural landscapes. The clean cut suspended, amulets mirror the colour of lei and present bright shiny forms sparkling in the light.

The light as a symbol of the influence of Christianity has always been an integral component of Niki's work and here the reference to our colonial past is subtle but ever present. Just as historically the amulet accumulated mana through contact with a capable wearer, Niki bestows mana on her sculpted forms through her careful detail and meticulous selection of colour and form.

Bird shaped amulets and carved forms were prized by early Maori and have been discovered throughout Polynesia. H.D. Skinner's Journal of the Polynesian Society has been a source of reference for Niki's new work, the sketches and line drawings of early New Zealand amulets discovered and documented by early explorers.

These shapes were bound to resonate with Niki, she has been involved with bird rescue for many years, her life is intimately tied to the birds she cares for- her studio and home resonate with birdcalls.

Birds from all cultures across time are featured in visual art and literature. They have come to represent among many things, the realm of the spirit world, they are harbingers of both fortune and evil, and in dream mythology they represent the personality of the dreamer.

In Flock, Niki's personality abounds; it is bold, colourful, confident and respectful.

Niki graduated with a Bachelor of Visual Arts, majoring in jewellery, from Manukau Institute of Technology in 2000. Since graduating, Niki has achieved much acclaim. Her work is held in public and private collections nationally and internationally, including the Chartwell Trust, British Museum, GOMA, Museum of Volkekund in Germany, Tjibaou Centre in Noumea, the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, The University of Auckland and Victoria University of Wellington.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited