Event Guide

Powered by:

Homely 2: Megan J Campbell

Homely 2: Megan J Campbell

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Thu 5 Mar ’15, 5:00pm – 7:00pm
  • Fri 6 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 7 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 8 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 9 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 10 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 11 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 12 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 13 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 14 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 15 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 16 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 17 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 18 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 19 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 20 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 21 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 22 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 23 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 24 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 25 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 26 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 27 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 28 Mar ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

The Backspace at Thrive, 8 Kitchener St, Martinborough

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

March brings Wairarapa artist Megan J Campbell to the Backspace.

‘Homely Two’ is an off shoot of her recent solo exhibition at the Cecil Veda Gallery in Wellington. This show gives Megan the opportunity to share the works with her local community, and we are delighted to host her first solo show in the Wairarapa in a decade. The works continue to explore an ongoing theme of humankind's connection with, and attempts to interpret the natural environs.

Beauty is found in the mundane and ordinary. There are vignettes of rather modest gardens spotted on daily rambles. Nature provides an ever changing yet constant backdrop for human activity, with human presence often indicated by manmade structures.

Greg O’Brien described Megan in his book 'Back and Beyond [NZ Art For The Young and Curious]' as a magpie “She poozles things from all over the place”. Latterly she has worked from secondary sources such as old garden manuals and books on floral arranging- prescriptions for activities that enable people to connect with and also manipulate the natural world, albeit in sometimes rather odd ways.

Opening Thursday 5 March, from 5-7pm
Daily 10.30am-5pm 6-28 March.

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited