Event Guide

Powered by:

Dark to Light: paintings By Martine Bijker

Dark to Light: paintings By Martine Bijker

Sorry this event has been and gone

When:

  • Sat 3 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 4 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 5 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 6 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 7 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 8 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 9 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 10 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 11 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 12 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 13 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 14 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 15 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 16 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 17 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 18 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 19 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 20 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Wed 21 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Thu 22 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Fri 23 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sat 24 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sun 25 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Mon 26 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • Tue 27 Oct ’15, 10:30am – 5:00pm
  • View all sessions

Where:

The Backspace at Thrive, 8 Kitchener St, Martinborough

Restrictions:

All Ages

Ticket Information:

  • Free Admission

With painting and soundtrack ever intertwined, this series has sprung from listening to Mike Hogan's album 'Dark to Light' and driving the Wairarapa landscape, experiencing the merging of aural and visual themes. Repetition and rhythm, colour and tone, power lines, fence lines, white lines- the land speeds by while moving tectonically slow.
The album's 'Matariki Suite' follows the transition from dark to light, as days lengthen coming out of winter. The growing importance of Matariki as a national celebration seems hopeful, a time when all cultures can come together without loaded historical baggage, marking the renewal of land and light. A beacon to navigate our way home.

Martine spent many years freelancing in the Wellington film industry before taking on the establishment of the Backspace Gallery at Thrive. This is her first solo exhibition in the Wairarapa.

Opening Sat 3 October 4.30 - 6pm, all welcome. Then daily until October 26th.

During the Festival on 25 October, the composer will introduce Christopher Hill of the NZGQ to play a microconcert in the gallery, surrounded by the work: see our separate listing for details

Related Events

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on NZHerald Events, go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!
Powered by:

© Copyright 2019, NZME. Publishing Limited